Eventually….

14/10/2017. Fulham v Preston North End. Action from the Sky Bet Championship.

It has taken a while, but I have found a second WFT-E6 at a sensible price, which now means that I can shoot with both bodies and wi-fi the images to my iPad. I cannot believe how expensive these things are new, and as I mainly use them at football, nearly £500 each was to expensive to justify.

In most situations they are overkill, the Eye-Fi mobi pro cards did the job, unless there was a lot of wi-fi interference, which on match days there frequently is. As you can probably imagine several thousand supporters, plus TV & the such like all using WiFi means that the airwaves are congested. Not a problem on most news stories, when there are just a few photographers & journalists about, however I do like the fact that I can send images direct from the camera to the picture desk, with as little or as much interaction as I wish.

It is also great when doing corporate shots, so that the client can see images as they are shot (subject to me checking them on the back of the camera first!)

Leave a Reply

