Not Unreasonable…

_PBA3144Just received a quotation from www.thelensdoctor.co.uk for the repair of my 16-35mm F2.8 L USM, which I think is quite reasonable, bearing in mind that I purchased it brand new when it was first released so, in reality, although originally expensive, it owes me nothing.  It has given faultless service since 2001 and for the sake of £300 to repair & service it will be fine for a back up lens, or used behind the goal on a remote.

The work required is

The lens requires a complete disassembly for internal repair, replacing the Central Corrector group’s bushes and securing drive assembly. The lens also requires a general service including Clean, Lubricated and adjusted, giving principal consideration to the focus movement, this involves stripping out the entire focusing mechanism system and movements from the lens. Assemble all parts and secure loose Guides and key ways (Corrector Group), and re-assemble internal focusing movement, and I.C. assembly’s new internal bearings/bushing kit, re-align focus, collimate re-centre element groups and calibrate, test back to standard.

Looking forward to getting it back, as much as I like the 17-40mm F4 L USM that has replaced it, I like the extra stop & the extra 1mm.

