I have been sorting out the archive

From PressPhotos-UK.com 12/04/2003. Cadet at RMA Sandhurst, passes out in front of Brigadier General Sir Michael Jackson Copyright Paul Burgman

From PressPhotos-UK.com 12/04/2003. Cadet at RMA Sandhurst, passes out in front of Brigadier General Sir Michael Jackson Copyright Paul Burgman

From the Archive. This photograph caused an unbelievable amount of shit at the time, actually I may have contributed to some of it….

When I arrived at RMA Sandhurst the guy in charge of PR was a Major Park-Weir (retired) said to me “If you follow my orders, everything will be fine”. Well I am not in the forces, and explained to Mr Park-Weir, that I don’t take orders. & even if I was I wouldn’t take orders from a Retired Major.

He really took umbrage at the fact that I called him Mister.

Anyway a Cadet passed out in front of the then Brigadier General Sir Michael Jackson, the most senior officer in the British Army at the time, and I think that I had the only frames, because all of the other photographers agreed with Mr Park-Weir that they would happily photograph an ex-professional Rugby Player & the first female officer to win a prestigious award. I knew I had the picture in the bag, so didn’t agree to a posed-up photo.

So I left, and wired, anyway, a friend of mine that works at the RMA, said that the shit hit the fan & that if Park-Wier knew the name of the photographer that put the picture out, I would be barred from any future passing out parades. He still doesn’t know who I am, and I have been back a few times, but this still remains the best picture that I have had out of the RMA Sandhurst.

Leave a Reply

