Sounds of the 20th Century

big-tomI was sitting in the club tonight listening to the sounds of the 20th Century, which was covering the year 1984, I was 19 at the time and at college studying for DATEC Diploma in professional photography, and on the day that Evonne Fletcher was shot (17 April 1984) St James Square, London I was on my way to meet Frank Hart at the News Of The World. As student without much money, relying on public transport, and then a taxi, I was severely put out, as my taxi didn’t move for the best part of 20 minutes. I had to bail out, and walked in the direction of the hold up. AS I wasn’t a Press Card holder at the time I wasn’t able to get close to the scene of the event. I did eventually make my interview (a couple of hours late) but when I returned home later I realised the enormity of the event, and felt guilty about the fact that gI was pissed off with being late, whilst someone else had lost their life.

2 thoughts on “Sounds of the 20th Century

  1. Didn’t that slightly guilty feeling make you feel that maybe working for the press was not something you could do for a living? The reporter whether a photographer or author has to do the job dispassionately. Such emotions could be a heavy burden. Recording news is perhaps one of those careers where a certain degree of Aspergers might be an advantage.

  2. No, If I had covered the job I wouldn’t have felt guilty, what I felt guilty about was being pissed off that I was late for somethingelse.

    I have covered many similar events since & not a pang of guilt.

Leave a Reply

