Damned and Blast

g4You will see in a couple of days a new post for a job I did last week for the Star on Sunday in Turkey. Unfortunately, during that trip my Powerbook (an old G4 1Ghz Aluminium) took a bit of a tumble whilst waiting for an internal flight from Bodrum to Istanbul. Net result was that the machine would not reboot. Fortunately I had wired all of the images that I needed to from the hotel before I left.

Anyway on arrival home, I replaced various bits, swapped hard disks, memory and the such, but concluded that it must be the logic board. Damned expensive to replace, something like £500+. A quick trip to my preferred repair agents, called Backstage Services in Esher Click Here for their website, to drop the laptop off for repair on Monday morning. Monday lunch they confirmed my worst fears, but they could get an exchange logic board, supply and fit for £328.00 all inclusive. Even though it is a six year old laptop, I figured it was worth it, as a new one would be in excess of £1300, plus I would still need to recover all the images from the old hard disk.

They promised the part would be delivered Tuesday and installed ASAP.

Once again they delivered superb service and incredibly quickly as well, kudos to Backstage.

Leave a Reply

