Sundays, I hate Sundays

It has been a quiet week; I was only out on a couple of jobs so really need to knuckle under next week, especially as it is the beginning of a new month. With a little luck, get a couple of good hits in early in the month, which takes the pressure off the last couple of weeks of the month.

Usually Sunday is a day for charging the batteries; both metaphorically and actually. However when there are no images to sell on a Sunday (either Sunday for Monday or Magazines) it can be a bit….. I don’t know if there is a word for it….. It’s kind of dull and lazy, without any pressure, but somehow completely unrewarding. I usually rise early, wash the car, wax and polish, get all the cameras’ batteries charged, laptops whatever, then settle for some footy and a doze on the sofa. But today I had done everything by about 10am.

Now I am bored, there is bugger all on the box, and I have just finished watching the first season of 24, and reluctant to start season 2 as that’ll be it, I won’t move from the sofa until the early hours of tomorrow (not a good idea with a trip to Birmingham and back tomorrow).

Douglas Adams described it rather aptly “In the end, it was the Sunday afternoons he couldn’t cope with, and that terrible listlessness which starts to set in at about 2:55, when you know that you’ve had all the baths you can usefully have that day, that however hard you stare at any given paragraph in the papers you will never actually read it, or use the revolutionary new pruning technique it describes, and that as you stare at the clock the hands will move relentlessly on to four o’clock, and you will enter the long dark teatime of the soul.”

I have even cleaned the inside of the car out, including the urine filled water bottles, tidied all the cables and bits that power the toys in the vehicle. I am lucky the car I have has two Power Sockets and a Cigar lighter, but that still isn’t enough, I have a 4 way adaptor as well, installed in the central console cubby box and I still have nowhere for a Cigarette lighter, if the Zippo runs out of fuel.

I just dread to think what it would be like, if I had my first company car (a 957cc Fiesta Popular Plus) which had no cigar lighters.

As it is I have the mains inverter permanently plugged in the rear load space power socket. The Mobile Phone Charger (actually two, one for the V600 and one for the V3) The Road Angel, the PDA, plus an AA battery charger in the front. Until recently there was also an iPod charging lead as well, but I have now installed the Pioneer iPod interface, which also permits the Head Unit to control the iPod as well as charging it.

So when everything is plugged in and driving with lights, wipers and heater on, there must be very little available power from the alternator to actually to re-charge the car battery, I really must invest in one of the portable jump-start kits. Worst-case scenario the battery is driving a battery charger for the Mac or Canon batteries, Charger for the PDA, Charger for the Phones, the head unit, the amplifier, digital TV tuner, iPod, three TV monitors, Road Angel, plus anything else that I may have forgotten. I think for the next jeep that I get I shall investigate the AC power alternator, which means that at least I can then cut out the mains inverter and have a couple of 13amp style plugs in the boot.

Having had the Grand Cherokee for a couple of years now, it still never ceases to amaze me, the way that it effortlessly eats up the miles, the way that it drinks more than George Best, the way that the dealership charge about 300% more for parts and labour, than the young mechanic that does the work on my Jeep, cheap.

The Grand is now starting, very slightly to show it’s age, with some 90,000 miles on the clock there are a couple of niggly little things, that mean that it may well have to retire from front-line duty and be replaced by something slightly younger and fitter. So I am looking out for a Jeep Wrangler Sahara, preferably in black, with hard and soft-tops. I will rip out the rear seats and install a security box for light kit only (ie a Billingham bag and a 500mm). I can’t think of anything more fun than chasing around in the summer with the roof down. The GRand will still be used for the discrete jobs, but for the rest the Wrangler should do.

Hasta la vista

Leave a Reply

