“I know a dead parrot when I see one, and I’m looking at one right now”

‘E’s not pinin’! ‘E’s passed on! This parrot is no more! He has ceased to be! ‘E’s expired and gone to meet ‘is maker! ‘E’s a stiff! Bereft of life, rests in peace! If you hadn’t nailed ‘im to the perch ‘e’d be pushing up the daisies! ‘Is metabolic processes are now ‘istory! ‘E’s off the twig! ‘E’s kicked the bucket, ‘e’s shuffled off ‘is mortal coil, run down the curtain and joined the bleedin’ choir invisibile!! THIS IS AN EX-PARROT!! © Monty Python

I was about to have the Parrot CK3100 Bluetooth handsfree kit removed from my car, as it was bloody annoying me. Probably not as much as the Norwegian Blue did to Mr Praline. However the arrival of the SonyEricsson V600i has had a rather beneficial side effect. That is, that the Parrot kit, when connected to a half decent phone works fantastically. One of the biggest problems with the kit was that it would mute the radio for several seconds, if you so much as looked at the phone.

If someone sent me a text message the phone would do it’s thing to let me know that a message had arrived, but the car kit, would mute the radio (or TV, Ipod whatever you were listening too) for 5 or 6 seconds. If you plugged the phone into a charger it would do the same. If you opened the phone likewise. It was really starting to p*ss me off. If you wanted to send a text message, every single keypress was amplified through the car stereo. Now with the new phone, I can send text messages without the damned bleeps and clunky clicking noises as the mute activates and deacticates.

Whilst the current firmware that I have on the Parrot isn’t the latest, it is now working as the kit should. So if you are having a problem with the CK3100, it may well be the phone’s fault and not the kit. I can now send messages, even dial a number and the mute function desn’t work until there is something to hear, so the Parrot Bluetooth hands free has had a stay of execution, at least untill something better comes along. Whoopeee, Tog is happy again.

The Parrot CK3100 bluetooth hands free kit was installed recently in my Grand Cherokee, and first impressions are very favourable.

Even though the kit doesn’t offer the opportunity to charge a phone, provide an external antennae for weak signal areas or have a cradle in which to secure the phone, it works very well. The user interface is about as simple as you can get. Two buttons, whose functions are clear to anyone who has ever owned a mobile phone and a circular dial in the middle. Whose function is easy to work out.

The installation of the Parrot is very simple and can be done by any competent auto electrician. I had mine installed by Logicar (who do all of my auto electrics, including alarms, immobilisers and car stereos you can contact Richard on 07831 453696). After discussing the installation options, I opted for the display to be dash mounted, with the microphone installed on the display. Other options include having it on the rear view mirror, or mounted flush on the dashboard, with the microphone installed elsewhere. There is no need to have the Parrot Speaker installed as most head units support mute functions and the passing of voice through the front speakers.

The Liquid Crystal Display lists the name of the phone that it is paired with (The CK3100 can be paired with up to 5 different phones, although only one at anytime) it also displays the signal strength, a bluetooth status symbol and the network provider.

Khezerge

10 thoughts on ““I know a dead parrot when I see one, and I’m looking at one right now”

  1. I am having the same annoying effect with my Nokia 6230 in combination with the CK3100 carkit; muting the radio with every single keypress in combination with extreme loud beeps! VERY ANNOYING! So it could be the phone…? Nokia says they can’t help me as the carkit isn’t a Nokia carkit…

  2. I must admit that I have only heard of this problem with motorola bluetooth implementations with the V3 and the SLVR, I have a Nokia but I 6234 which seems to work ok with the kit, but I haven’t tried it extensively as I hate the phone and have one back to the V600i. I would suggest that you try to borrrow someoneelse’s phone and give it a go.

  3. these problems are common with bluetooth kits and the simple way of getting around it is to turn your key pad tones off.do this whilst connected to the car kit and the kit should remember the settings each time you turn your ignition to pair up the car kit,im an experienced installations engineer with 7 years experience working for vodafone,o2 and t mobile.ive recently started my own business fitting handsfree kits,sat nav,trackers etc.

  4. thanks for that however according to Parrot and I quote

    “dear sir,

    we notice this issue with some nokia phones in which all sounds are tranferred via bluetooth , we don’t have any solutions for this issue , because this problem is due to physical configuration of your nokia phone.

    Regards,

    Daniel PRASANTH”

    If it was just a problem with the keypad tones then I wouldn’t worry, but the fact that it mutes the radio when you plug the in-car charger in, recieve a text message or even touch a button, the radio is muted for 4 seconds.

  5. After searching some more, indeed I found the workaround of switching off Key Tones, which at least doesn’t activate mute with any press of a key. In addition, if you simply switch off Warning Tones, mute is also not activated when e.g. completing an Agenda entry or sending an SMS. At least these options have now reduced my irritation a lot since then! 🙂

  6. Mark you are correct, I have had the same roblem with a Nokia E70, and by selecting a diferent profile for use with the bluetooth handsfree (I used the pager setting on the E70) and setting the warning tones to off and turn key tones off it does for the most part behave as one would expect. It is still annoying that it mutes when connecting to the kit, or if you have email reciepts activated and there are a couple of others items that cause it to mute, but for the most part it is now bareable.

    Cheers

  7. What is everyone moaning about, I have a Nokia 6234 and a parrot system in my [unrequired boast about an overweight german saloon] which i fitted myself coincidently and i have to say that i am not an auto electrician but i did it with no problems at all, my wife decided that she would like one in her [insert name of german hatchback you’d buy if you couldn’t afford a Golf] and i fitted that.

    I would like to point out that i find it hard to believe that all you people are moaning about a product that is designed to make your lives easier lets face it if a message comes in and it muted the radio to tell you that you have a message waiting is it such a bad thing? maybe you can have a profile on your Phone just for the car kit whereby it switches off all alert tones and only mutes the radio when a call comes in. When all said and done that annoying box that you are all moaning about is saving you from a big fine and points on your license. I know what i preffer, blah, blah blah bollox blah, blah blah bollox blah, blah blah bollox blah, blah blah bollox blah, blah blah bollox blah, blah blah bollox blah, blah blah bollox

  8. What is everyone moaning about, I have a Nokia 6234 and a parrot system in my Mercedes which i fitted myself coincidently and i have to say that i am not an auto electrician but i did it with no problems at all, my wife decided that she would like one in her VW Polo and i fitted that.

    Don’t be a twat, it causes problems with certain phones, you either suffer it or you don’t.

    moaning about a product that is designed to make your lives easier

    I personally like something to work how it is supposed to, with certain phones it doesn’t so it is not fit for purpose, rather like your pointless retort here.

    find it hard to believe that all you people are moaning about a product that

    All you People??? 3 out of the 20,000 or so a month that visit here?

    lets face it if a message comes in and it muted the radio to tell you that you have a message waiting is it such a bad thing?

    Obviously it is a bad thing IF ALL US people are complaining about it

    When all said and done that annoying box that you are all moaning about is saving you from a big fine and points on your license

    No it isn’t it is the fact that I paid for it, installed it and use it that saves me from three points. The little box as you describe it just sits in the car.

    You arrived here searching for

    parrot nokia 6234 cradle

    in google, so you at least have a problem with the fact that there is no cradle and no way of charging a phone without it bouncing around the car every time you go around a corner.

    Piss off and take your pathetic views with you.

  9. Oh dear i seam to have his a raw nerve, Blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah

Leave a Reply

